Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: help needed tidying up file structure

1. Default help needed tidying up file structure

Hi,

I am new to this excellent forum, although I have been lurking in the background reading posts for a few weeks. Now I need some help please.

I recently purchase Vegas Pro 9c and started creating an edit (project, I think is the correct term). As a 'man' I did the 'man' thing, and didn't read instructions, just went in and started the edit.

I correctly imported HDV footage off my camera but in the edit I also used still images and footage which I had already downloaded to my PC simply by using the Vegas explorer, rather than correctly 'importing'. These clips/files/images/music are dotted about my PC unhappily in a rather untidy way - I admit it, I am an untidy PC user!

Now the edit is complete I want to archive the project onto an external drive, what is the best way to do this? How to collate and save all the various files /footage used etc or is there a way that Vegas will do this for you?

Thanks
    PS I promise my next project will be better organised
    Last edited by georgeksli; 05-24-2010 at 10:27 PM.

I don't know a quick way to do it so I would do it this way.

Get rid of any thing in the media bin that is not used. Then right click the first clip and select properties or left click on the clip and click on the media properties button. This will tell you the file name and the path of the selected clip. You will then have to go to each file in windows explorer and copy them to your archive folder on your external hard drive one at a time.

I hope there is an easier way for you.

3. Default

Thanks for that - I had a feeling I might have to go through every single clip/event - there are loads! in this 23min project.