Thread: Some advise for a newbie...

Default Some advise for a newbie...

Hello, I am new to video editing. I picked it up as a personal hobby about a month ago and discovered that I really enjoy the process! I use video editing to mainly to create Video Montages of myself/friends playing online video games (Call of Duty:Modern Warfare 2, World of Warcraft, etc).
    At this point I seem to have hit two sort of "roadblocks". First; To record our game-play, I need to use Video Capturing Software(VCS) that won't bog down my computer but can still capture constant good quality game-play. My old VCS was "Wegame" but it was causing a lot of issues with my PC. Second; My Video Editing Program I was using was "Camtasia". It was a good program, but I felt like i couldn't do all the things i wanted to my videos with the program. The effects I could add to a video was "Clunky" (sometimes it actually destroyed the clip), I could only use a single music file, and just other small problems.
    In summary, I am asking for advice on both a good quality VCS and a Video Editor(please no Fraps recommendations, my computer has trouble with it) for my specific editing goals. I have looked into Sony Vegas and a few other programs. I have free trials and am trying things out, but i would like some opinions from people who are doing/have done what I am trying to do now. All help is appreciated!

Example Video of what I am trying to accomplish...but want to make it BETTER!;

alot of people might not like the music played in the video, and for that i apologize. but once again, any/all help is appreciated. Thanks

2. Default

I think sony vegas is a quite a good program for what you want. Its got quite a few good effects and i wouldn't say its hard to use. Once you get used to the interface and workings its easy to use. Now recording software i don't know to much about i myself use fraps but since that doesn't work for you maybe try gamecam or type in google free game recorder.