Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bit of help with sound

Default Bit of help with sound

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to the video editing arena. Basically I fly flight simulators on my PC, record them using FRAPS and edit them with Sony Vegas Pro. I'm getting the hang of Vegas, and I know how to add effects and stuff, and I'm happy with my videos so far.

The problem that I have with a current video, is that it's filmed during a landing in the passenger cabin of an aircraft. Now because of a glitch in the simulator, the GPWS (Ground Proximity Warning System) that the flight crew hear in the cockpit, is clearly audible in this video. In other words, there is a voice that says "500"........ "Approaching minimums"...... "300"........ "Minimums, minimums".... "100"..... "50"...."40"... "30"... "20"..... "10". Basically saying how far you are from the ground. Now obviously this would be fine if I was recording from the cockpit, but in real life the passengers don't hear this.

I was wondering how to get rid of it. I've got engine noise in the background, is there some way that I can take a piece of engine noise (ie. just before the GPWS voice comes in) and place it OVER that voice?

Any help is much appreciated

Tom

Yes. Use a volume envelope on the main track to 'dip' the volume where the voice comes in. (Click on the track, then 'V' on your keyboard). Overlay the copied piece of audio noise, and fade it in/out to suit. You can dip the volume envelope manually, by double clicking on it to create keyframes (I think they're actually called 'node' points) to drag up/down, or by using the 'auto' function.
    To do this; insert the volume envelope as above, then on the track controls on the left click on the 'star' shape and select "show automation controls". Now just play through, and adjust the volume slider up/down. It will auto create keyframes. These can be manually adjusted afterwards if need be.
    Good luck.