Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: IOV Video Skills Exam

Lightbulb IOV Video Skills Exam

I recently became a member of the IOV (Institute of Videography).

I was wondering who else is a member and if you have done the Associate Exam. If so how hard or easy was it. Was it worth doing, has it helped get business etc....?

How easy / hard it is depends on how much you already know and how much you have to learn. Even if you've been a videographer for a long time there may still be things you don't know, including things like health & safety and other business related matters. There are some H&S questions that you need to get right or you fail, regardless of how well you do on the other stuff.

Hi Dave, the first part of the exam that I did is the Business/H&S part because I have some experience being in business for some years. I did get one question wrong the first time I did it but passed on the second attempt. I thought I'd better not do any more tonight as I had finished my second glass of red wine.

I made the original post just before doing the test so I was just wondering what to expect as I've done these sorts of things before where the questions can be so ambiguous that there could be a number of different answers to each question.

Have you found that having the IOV accreditation has helped your business ?
    Last edited by Midnight Blue; 05-13-2010 at 09:51 AM.

The book as all the answers, I know my name is in there at the front....

The logo is helpful, makes you feel confident have reached a bar in your work.
    As for people asking if I have it, well...... I do mention in my spiel and the benefits to them, eg qualified, code of conduct and the arbitration Just in case.

I was a MM of the IOV and yes, coming up to standard will certainly improve your game. Recognising what can be blindingly obvious as amateur techniques in your own work is hard, but worthwhile.