0 0%
  • No

0 0%
  • bah

0 0%

Thread: Audio offset?

Post Audio offset?

Hey everyone

I'm using Vegas Pro 9.0 and I'm not that experienced in editing so I was just curious about this. You know, if you've filmed a lot of clips e.g. during your holiday with a lot of different sound levels, do you just clip them all together or do you use some kind of offset at the end of each audio clip to soften the change in sound? I've noticed that if you move your clips directly to the timeline, Vegas creates a little offset at the end of the clips sound track. But only if you move them directly.

Peace
    GG
    Last edited by Gladstone Gander; 05-06-2010 at 10:26 PM.

Very easy to adjust each clip to suite. If you drag from the top of the clip downwards, you'll see a blue line which adjusts the audio level. Or you can add a volume envelope, which is more like a rubber band over the whole track. Double click on it to create a control point,now just drag it up or down - you'll see how it works. This can be automated too - so that you play through the track and adjust the level with the track volume control as you go. BRILLIANT!

OR you can try this free down load: The Levelator - Download
    Create an audio file 'as is' then feed it into the levelator. Then just replace the audio on the timeline with the new leveled audio clip.

You can also highlight (Range) a part of the audio and drag the volume band down (V) to get rid of loud parts

If you hold the shift key and draw your wave form on the audio to adjust levels, it saves all the double clicking.

Thank you very much for your answers. Now I know some good ways to edit the audio. It's a part of the video editing I didn't know much about.

But there is still one thing I don't understand. Why does Vegas add a tiny milliseconds long offset at the end of an audio clip (in a video clip) if I cut the clip directly in the timeline? If I cut it using the trimmer, it adds no offset at the end! Here you can see what I mean: