Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: What can I do to improve the editing capabilities of my PC?

  1. #1

    Default What can I do to improve the editing capabilities of my PC?

    Hi, I want to start editing holiday videos to put onto DVD. I already have an OK computer, and all the software I need, but would like to know how I can best improve it for no more than £150. My current specs are:

    Mobo: Aopen AK79D-400VN
    CPU: 2400 Athlon XP (266FSB)
    RAM: 1x256Mb Samsung PC2100
    HDD: 160Gb Spinpoint PATA133, partitioned to leave 120Gb for editing.
    Graphics: 32Mb Geforce MX200
    Sound: Onboard
    Capture: Firewire PCI card to capture from DV camcorder
    No microphone for adding voiceovers, as yet

    My guess is that I need to get more memory, but do I need low latency or will the value range of a major retailer be OK? After the memory, what else should I upgrade?

    Thanks in advance for the advice, Chris.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Processor:
    Your mobo takes upto an AMD Athlon™ XP 3200+ - £100. Or get a decent heatsink, fan and thermal compound and overclock the current CPU - about £30

    Harddrive
    Get an extra 160GB for about £50

    RAM

    Looks like you've got one stick of 256MB (or two of 128!!!). It's actually got dual channel DDR, so either get another stick of exactly the same or ditch it and get matching pairs of PC3200 (400MHz) DDR to place in the dual channel slots - this would take up the whole budget for a gig of RAM.

  3. #3

    Default

    Hi Marc, Thanks for the reply.

    Processor:
    Your mobo takes upto an AMD Athlon™ XP 3200+ - £100. Or get a decent heatsink, fan and thermal compound and overclock the current CPU - about £30
    I've tried OCing my CPU, but it won't even take a 1Mhz increase, so the only option in this catagory would be a new CPU.

    Harddrive
    Get an extra 160GB for about £50
    Although this isn't that costly, how much would it improve the editing situation?

    RAM

    Looks like you've got one stick of 256MB (or two of 128!!!). It's actually got dual channel DDR, so either get another stick of exactly the same or ditch it and get matching pairs of PC3200 (400MHz) DDR to place in the dual channel slots - this would take up the whole budget for a gig of RAM.
    I've got one stick of DDR, and I can't guarantee getting another the same, so I'd be happier with the replacement RAM option. Would my best bet be something like Corsair VS 1Gb (2x512) CAS 2.5, as I've seen this for £107.50 + p&p, or do I need something more along the lines of the TwinX range?

    So, given my budget, it comes down to new CPU or new RAM. Would replacing one have more advantage over replacing the other?

    Cheers, Chris.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    In the simplest of terms, upgrading the CPU will speed up encoding times, upgrading RAM will make it easier to navigate around the timeline/avoid system haults etc.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    I'd be tempted to get something like this from Crucial. Corsair RAM is great, but I think it's a bit of overkill, especially if you're not planning to overclock the system. Don't forget to take into acount the money you might get from selling your current CPU on ebay - see here

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    For the love of god, who would buy a second hand CPU?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    Loads of people, evidently!

    If it works, let them do it!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    Looking at the completed items section, they seem to go for anywhere between £35 - £45, so if you add £35 to your budget, you might be able to afford something a bit more

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Thorpe
    Loads of people, evidently!

    If it works, let them do it!
    Bless 'em

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kent/Surrey border
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Nothing wrong with second hand CPU's if they work - they work.
    First thing I would do is throw away the PC2100 ram and get some decent memory. The speed in which the cpu can communicate with the memory will have great effects on the computers ability to render - and infact do nearly everything. Your bus speed will currently be 2x133mhz and is capable of 2x200 mhz, you have the potential to increase memory throughput by 150%. Also get at least 512 idealy 1 gig. With this alone you will see worthwhile improvments in system speed.
    Several editing systems now rely more on GPU acceleration as well, (well a few do) your graphics card is very old relative to the system, consider something more moden again this should improve the systems overall appearance of speed. Oh I have a Geforce 4 4200ti for sale if you want to make me an offer lol

    Ed
    First B/W semi pro music video in the bag! More to come.
    Dual Athlon MP 2800+ 2 Gig DDR Ram Pinnacle Edition V6.1 pro 2xXL1s

Similar Threads

  1. Is There A Way To Improve The Quality?
    By odroller in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-24-2006, 01:29 AM
  2. if i improve this of my system will rendering speed improve?
    By Sithxace in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-11-2005, 12:33 AM
  3. newbie here, advice about specific software capabilities?
    By neurodoc in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-22-2005, 03:12 PM
  4. X100 - MPEG2 realtime encoding capabilities?
    By Chappers in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-18-2005, 10:19 AM
  5. PLEASE TELL ME WHAT NLE TO BUY with realtime capabilities
    By scrapper24 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-25-2004, 06:09 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •