Thread: Next camcorder purchase?

Default Next camcorder purchase?

Hi guys

Hope someone can give me a reccomendation or two!!

I have had my trusty Sony DCR-HC35E for a good 5 years now which was my first camcorder.

I am now looking at purchasing something a little more upbeat.

Basically I film powerboat racing meetings for two teams websites and sometimes the circuits are a good distance from the waters edge so would love to find a camcorder with good zoom and very good image stabilization (is there such a camcorder).

Am also looking at going HD in the not so distant future.

Any reccomendations

Washington State, USA

Smile HDR-XR520v

Well, you didn't give any sort of budget, but I HIGHLY recommend the Sony HDR-XR520v. Street price ranges from $1200 - $1900, and you can get a used one for under $1000. Check Amazon. It has an AMAZING stabilization and the low light capabilities are incredible. I'm a pro with $100K into cameras alone, and Sony's HDR-XR520v is the one I take for remote documentaries when I travel. The HD image is nearly as good as my $10,000 JVC, and the color is accurate.

Hope this helps.

Thanks for the response.

I am from the UK so probably looking at spending £800.

What sort of software would i need. I currently use Pinnacle Studio 12, so may have to look into buying a different software package to edit.

Well, Canon invented image stabilisation and, IMHO, are the best at it. However, if you are shooting from the waterfront you should be on a tripod and not need stabilisation!

Canon do an HF200 which is small but with a good zoom range and 24mbs recording in HD and will set you back around the £500 mark (possibly cheaper) and leave you a bit for both a decent editing program (I've just gone over to Vegas Platinum and find it good for the purpose) and possibly a decent 2x converter for the camera if the distance is still a problem.

I have six honest, serving men. They taught me all I knew.