Thread: Best Cam for club/festival event recording

Default Best Cam for club/festival event recording

I've seen good priced second hand Canon XL1's just over 1000 but also some good HD camcorders, is it worth going for something so big like the Canon or can you get away without loss of quality with the smaller handy cams?

Just looking for the best contender really.

I will be recording at live club/festival events where it may be quite dark, also a good mic system that does not clip sound at very high levels is also required, any suggestions on that front?

The videos will be going online so I suppose it dosnt have to be to be HD TV quality but HD is a must still and the sound must be good.
    Last edited by daeus; 04-24-2010 at 01:35 PM.

Funny really, I've just joined this forum and will be using my camera for the same purpose.

I've been doing club photography for a few years now (since 2003) and used a few cameras over the years, currently I use a Nikon D200 with all the toys.

Video wise, I've just bought a Canon XL1 (arrived today). I picked mine up for 450 on ebay as the heads may need replacing, something I've already arranged along with a full service.

After watching a lot of auctions recently I've seen the XL1's go for around 630 to 830 depending on what they come with. I'm still watching some other auctions, but more to see what they sell for than to bid.

I'm going to be using mine for club work to as part of my site The DJ Book (google it) and my work with a DJ duo I've been managing for some years now. I also intend to do some short films and tutorial videos.