Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lighting for b/w (on the cheap?)

Default Lighting for b/w (on the cheap?)

I am considering doing something in graduated b/w (or perhaps 'monochrome' is the correct term). Film in colour, then use software to convert it.

My dumb question today is: Can I assume that lighting for black and white is easier than for colour; and that using standard household light/lamps/torches are ok because the colours don't matter?

(I foolishly thought that colour footage in low light on a cheap cam would convert well; and remove the ugly colour effects of the low light. I was, of course, wrong. It simply converted the ugly random colurs into lots of ugly patches. )
    In effect. I must follow the rules. I must use lights.

Hi Tim, I'm not a lighting expert buy any stretch of the imagination but I remember seeing a program on TV about lighting for b&w. What they seemed to be saying was that it's a totally different science than lighting a colour set. One thing I would recommend is if you know you want black and white then don't shoot it in colour and change it in post. I think you need to see the difference that a black and white image gives, try altering a colour photo to B&W in photoshop and look at what it does to the image.

Some B&W images can look flat so I would recommend extra back lighting to overcome this. It really depends on the look you want. IE. If you want a high contrast film noir look make sure you light the set so you have bright areas and dark shadows.

It's amazing how I can waffle on about something that I know nothing about.

Hopefully Gaffer will tell you what you should really do.

Blog Entries

Unhappy

Quote Originally Posted by Midnight Blue View Post

Hopefully Gaffer will tell you what you should really do.