Thread: newbie question: converting flash movie to .mov or .avi movie

Default newbie question: converting flash movie to .mov or .avi movie

Hi there,
    I'm new to flash and video editing and have been asked to supply a flash file as a .mov or .avi file, however, there are specific specs that have been given to me, which I have no idea what to do with. I am using flash cs3, I also have final cut pro (the studio version) and compressor. I initially thought I could just 'export' from flash, but with the settings listed below, I have no clue what to do or what they mean.

Here they are:

Video should be progressive video, square pixel (1:1) and supplied in .mpeg2 or uncompressed .mov format.

Can anyone help me? And I apologize if this is not the right area to be adding this thread...i don't know where else to go...

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Choc_123 View Post
    Hi there,
    ... I also have final cut pro (the studio version) and compressor
    1k of software and no manual? I can honestly recommend "Final Cut Pro for Dummies" by Helmut Kobler which will take you through the basics and get you editing. The chapter "exporting your movie to a digital file" will tell you all you need to know and understand.

Well, I didn't buy a manual at the time because I was taking a course on final cut pro and thought they would be suggesting a book to buy for the semester. Turns out no...we only got a few handouts. So, I did go out and buy one myself, but there's nothing in this book about flash and video settings, that's why I thought a forum might be able to help me.

I guess I don't know if I'm supposed to be exporting from flash with certain settings, bringing it in to final cut pro and then using different settings to export to the specs listed.

Thank you for the suggestion on the book...I will definitely go and buy it.

The manuals are all on the web - so you don't need to buy one.