Thread: Picking HDD setup with what I have

Default Picking HDD setup with what I have

I'm new to HD editing and I'm getting a new computer to handle it. I understand the ideal Hard Drive set up(for a beginner) is drive 1 for OS/Programs, Drive 2 for media (or raw footage files) and drive 3 for scratch files (or the actualy project files I'd be working with in my eiditor (Vegas Pro 9))

Due to budget restrictions, I can only get two drive of sucnificant size or use a 3rd drive that I already have but never used but its a WD 7200rpm Green. Should I:

1) just go with the two drive set up using drive 2 for my media and scratch files
    2) mix in that WD 750gb 7200rpm green as either my scratch drive or media drive

The computer will be an i7 920 with 9 or 12 gb ram

Blog Entries

You'll need as much space as you can get. With that in mind, you'll want to throw in the 750gb drive as a storage drive for backed up or archive media.

Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters View Post
    Y... you'll want to throw in the 750gb drive as a storage drive for backed up or archive media.
    So using the green drive as a media drive would be ok, or only for a backup of media files and scratch files?

Or once I import my media files into my project file (im using Vegas Pro 9) does the media file no longer need to be access by Vegas (or whatever program I use?)

Blog Entries

Different people will give you different opinions on drive set up. The techies (who would sell their soul for an increased render time) would probably tell you to have one drive for the OS (in fact they would probably tell you to have two drives set up as RAID) and then a seperate drive for the media you're working on. It does however make for good housekeeping to keep things seperate: one drive for your OS and applications, another for videos you're currently creating, and then a third for archiving.