Thread: newbie, trying to put together an editing package

Default newbie, trying to put together an editing package

Hello,
    I am a builder, (the hammer and nails type) who has used photos and videos for several years to keep clients informed of projects and problems. It avoids so much confusion just to email or youtube a short view of progress. Especially when its somewhere you need a harness to get to. So I know some of the terminology but I have never been what you might call creative with editing.

This summer I have a large contract that I need to record in very good detail. So when I was offered a good deal on a canon Hfs100 I took it. Now I need a computer that can handle AVCHD. And it might also be nice somewhere down the line to edit together some of the more interesting jobs.

Having lurked on a few forums I have come to the following assumptions.

I need a quad core processor. Although no one seems to have stated a specific minimum requirement.
    I need plenty of memory. Some things never change.
    Graphics card is not essential but would help. I am thinking something along the lines of radeon 5570?
    And while a blu ray writer would seem an obvious choice for the amount of video I am going to need to archive, it seems like an expensive choice still so I am thinking maybe DVDs for a while yet?

Anyone care to comment? I haven't looked at a new computer in years so I am a bit vague on things like the current range of processors, or if external connections might be useful to me in the future. eSATA? Firewire?

Quote Originally Posted by Allan View Post
    Graphics card is not essential
    OK this seems inaccurate now.

I have been studying CUDA and ATI stream, which help the GPU to assist more. So I really do need a decent graphics card after all then?

Cyberlink seem to be making the most of their hardware acceleration capabilities. But I have to assume that the big names are still a bit behind, after reading about this