Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Windowboxing Occurs When I Include JPGs in Clip

Default Windowboxing Occurs When I Include JPGs in Clip

I use Sony Vegas Platinum Pro 9. I'm a newbie. I've been editing some clips. When I render them and play them on my HDTV they look fine—they fill the whole screen. I went back in, added some JPEG files, and now, once rendered, the clips have windowboxing on my HDTV—i.e., I've got black bars on all four sides of the film, throughout the film, even though the aspect ratio of the reduced image is still widescreen. I'm assuming it's the addition of the JPEGs that's causing the problem? The dimensions on the JPEGs are 720 X 480. How can I incorporate the JPEGs but keep the clip to where it fills the entire TV screen? I'd even be fine with the JPEGs themselves having pillars or letterboxing, as long as the motion picture clips themselves fill the HDTV screen. Any help is greatly appreciated!

2. Default

Two questions. 1: How are you playing them on the tv and 2: What are your project properties set at?

Blog Entries

Just one thought which may or may not be relevant. Your JPEGs at 720 x 480, because JPEGs use square pixels are not 4:3 or 16:9 so some letterboxing is inevitable.
    Tim

Hi Terry.

I'm playing them on my TV using a DVD I rendered.

My Video Project Properties are:

Template: NTSC DV 720X480,29.970FPS
    Width: 720
    Height: 480
    Field Order: Lower Field First
    Pixel Aspect Ratio: 0.9091 (NTSC DV)
    Frame Rate: 29.970 (NTSC)
    Full Resolution on Rendering Quality: Good
    Deinterlace Method: Blend Fields

Hi Tim,

Now that you mention it, when the JPGs disploay in the movie on my TV, the height of the JPG does fill my screen from top to bottom (but not left to right.) Once the JPG is finished displaying, the movie reverts to windowboxing again.

I'm fine if the JPG does not fill the screen< but I rally do want the movie itself to fill the screen.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Blog Entries