Thread: Martial Arts Instructional Video equipment

Default Martial Arts Instructional Video equipment

Hi. I'm a complete novice and know nothing of camcorder or video production. I do know a bit about encoding and software in general being a programmer, so I'm quite willing to try to convert even more obscure formats, but I know that I need to have decent source footage as a starting point.

It is a given that these will be uploaded onto sites such as YouTube, Vimeo, etc.

I was wondering what the best camcorder for my requirements. Generally I would need to be "fairly hands" off. Two reasons: Will be doing little tit bits vlog style like coordination exercises, where I may not have anyone around to help me; secondly I don't have a large amount of time for the learning curve for entirely manual operations. I also think these types of high end cameras would be wasted money for me realistically. Despite that I am technically minded, so Iím willing to learn a little in terms of setup/tweaking.

I do have quite specific requirements based on experience of what works and what does work in the end product. There are basically two categories of martial arts instructional videos: The first is purely demonstrational but flashy/stylised and most people arenít going to learn a great deal out of them, the second is much more educational and doesnít have so much of the special effects. Iím focusing on the latter. In a way the first should be easier to achieve.