Thread: What kit would I need to get results like this?

1. Default What kit would I need to get results like this?

Hi

I'm new to video but pretty OK at photography. I work for a company in the sports industry and I'm on a mission to improve our rich media presence. To do this, I need to persuade my boss to stump up for some kit, but to do that I need to show him what I can do with that kit. It's a Catch 22.

To start with, I would like to produce something like this [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fQ3tiV830Gw"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fQ3tiV830Gw[/ame] with a number of our sponsored athletes. A bit of talking head, a bit of action footage. Nothing earth-shattering but something i can shoot in one session and edit up in a couple of evenings.

I rather stupidly went and bought a 99 HD Camcorder from Maplin on the weekend and quite frankly I think I could have made a better product in my shed. So, can you guys recommend the type of kit I'd need to get a result like the one above? I'm assuming a light, tape camera (for which I'll need a firewire card), remote mic? I can probably get half/all the cost of the kit back from my boss if the results are any good.

Luke

You would have to give us some sort of budget guideline.

The first thing to decide is do you want to film in Standard or High definition.
    Equipment basics are:- A camera with microphone socket and a tripod, Separate microphone, Computer hardware and software to edit the footage. Possibly lighting as needed.

The trend these days is to move away from DV tape cameras and record on to memory cards but this is not essential. There is such a vast array of options and uses it's hard to recommend specifics.

I hope this helps as a starter.

You may want to consider hiring an external company to do this for you. Or form a contract between the two if it's going to be regular work.

4. Default