Thread: Good software for creating cartoons?

Default Good software for creating cartoons?

Hi

I'm a musician with a song I'd like to do a cartoon film for. I would like to find some good software that would allow me to draw images on-screen to that end. I've already got Adobe 2, but I'm wondering if there are any other programmes that would be better for me. It must be simple to use as I don't want to spend a lot of time learning how to use a complicated programme.

When you say cartoon do you mean like Tom & Jerry or some sort of abstract animation.

I can't advise you but I thought it would be a good idea for you to be a little more specific so when the animators on the forum read your thread it would help them to help you.

Quote Originally Posted by Midnight Blue View Post
    When you say cartoon do you mean like Tom & Jerry or some sort of abstract animation.

I can't advise you but I thought it would be a good idea for you to be a little more specific so when the animators on the forum read your thread it would help them to help you.
    Thanks MB. Yes, I'm thinking more of the Tom & Jerry sort of thing. I'm a musician, and I've just released a single that I'd like to get a film done for. I drew a still image (in Adobe) for the artwork for the song, and although I'm not an artist, it does the job in conveying the message. What I'd like to find out is if there are any programmes that would help me create a very simple cartoon animation film based on the image I've already produced. The end result I'm looking for is not anywhere near as sophisticated as the Tom & Jerry films (which are obviously masterpieces). Rather, I'd be producing very simple, child-like drawings (because that's all I'm capable of!) and wanting to link/animate these together to tell the song's story.

It sounds like a very ambitious first project, I just don't have the patience to do animation but if there is some software out there that can help you that would be great.

Blog Entries