Thread: Newbie here. Don't know anything but want to learn.

Default Newbie here. Don't know anything but want to learn.

I have 8mm movies that I want to convert to DVD. I found a company that will do that for me but I need to be able to edit, add still photos, music and voiceover. It is a family journal that I want to create and send to my children. How do I do that? What do I have to buy?

Is that standard 8 or super 8? With or without sound (on the originial movie that is)? I wish you were in the UK, I would offer to do it for you (for a exceptionally small fee of course).

The way I transfer movie film is as follows.

I point the movie projector at a transfer screen and point my camcorder to the same transfer screen at an angle of 45 degrees. (So you need a Projector, Transfer Screen and Digital Camcorder). At the end of this process I have a digital MiniDV master of the cine film.

I then connect my camcorder (with the digitally mastered movie) to my PC via firewire and I capture the MiniDV footage to my PC. (so you need a PC, A firewire card & firewire cable, as well as software capable of captuiring video from a Digital Camcorder)

I then use some editing software (I personally use Ulead Products but there are loads more, just check the various threads in these forums) to insert the movie, to edit the footage and to add stills and music. (So you need some Video Editing Software, A scanner to scan your fotos and of course some music to add to your edited movie)

The I use software to create DVD menus and to burn my movie to DVD (So you need some DVD authoring and burning software (again in my case I use ULead - the same package I used to capture and edit) and of course a DVD rewriter and some blank discs).

All sounds rather daunting, but you will get a great feeling when you watch those old movies on DVD.

Good luck, and don't hesitate to post back if you have any more questions.