Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Need help...Shooting and Editing

1. Default Need help...Shooting and Editing

Hey Gang,

I could use some help not only with shooting but with editing. Most of my footage involves airplanes, airshows and flying. I like to shoot video when I fly, and shoot from the ground when I'm working air shows. I have NO experience with shooting or editing and it shows. I'm here to learn from you so please don't be afraid to rip apart. Right now I'm using a Canon FS100 but will be moving up to the HV200 when my skills improve.

Here is some footage shot while flying..music starts at 15 sec mark. Editing done with MS Movie maker. I dont know how to use Sony Pro yet.

Blog Entries

If I wanted to record my own flight and the scenery around Arizona for my own memories, that's pretty much the film I would have made. I don't know whether a polarizing filter would help reduce some of the glare from the windshield which is reducing the contrast a bit.

If you were showing it to friends, you'd no doubt talk over it about some of the scenery, but I'm not sure this would have stood a narration as is.

If you want help, the first question you've got to ask yourself is: For whom am I making the film? Who is my target audience?

Other good questions to ask yourself are:
    What type of film am I making - a documentary about flying? a documentary about landscapes/geology? A relaxing "chill out" film?
    Do I want to inform people? (if so, about what?)
    Do I want to make a statement?
    Do I want it to be peaceful? Exciting? Dramatic?
    Or are you making "just" a record of events (in which case you've already done a pretty good job, if it's for yourself, but needs at least some info - captions or nmarration or both - if it's for a wider audience - location, date, landmarks, that sort of thing)

I bet you just thought you wanted to make a film, didn't you