Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Problems - Sound But No Picture

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    England, Gloucestershire
    Posts
    100

    Default Problems - Sound But No Picture

    Hi,

    I'm currently going through many SDHC cards given to me by someone who needs me to edit the footage.

    She used a JVC ProHD gy-hm100.
    I'm using Vegas Pro 9

    2 of the 4 cards the footage is fine, I can drop straight into Vegas and edit (files off this camera don't need to be transcoded)

    But the other 2 files I'm having issues with. The mov. files when put into vegas (or quicktime) don't have any picture, but do have sound.
    Strangely, when I used a free mov. to avi. converter, I DID get picture and sound... BUT only in WMP, not in Vegas (still no picture).

    So video is there, but Vegas doesn't seem to think theres a video channel.

    Any ideas as to what's happened, and how to fix it?

    Thanks so much for any help.

  2. #2

    Default

    Similar thing happened to me - i had an .avi file and Vegas 8.0 wouldnt show picture but had the sound.

    I converted it to .wmv and it worked fine but the quality suffered somewhat

    Im fairly new to this editing lark so there may be another solution for it. If so i'll be interested to hear what it is.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    England, Gloucestershire
    Posts
    100

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NAZmedia View Post
    Similar thing happened to me - i had an .avi file and Vegas 8.0 wouldnt show picture but had the sound.

    I converted it to .wmv and it worked fine but the quality suffered somewhat

    Im fairly new to this editing lark so there may be another solution for it. If so i'll be interested to hear what it is.
    I'll keep trying. I'll try use an mp4 converter and let you know how I get on.

    Cineform Neoscene doesn't support the file.

    UPDATE:

    It seems the files I'm having trouble with are 'quicktime video' whereas the working files are 'mp4 video'.

    Is 'quicktime video' MPEG2? If so what needs doing to it to be Vegas friendly?
    Last edited by benesotor; 02-19-2010 at 01:30 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    England, Gloucestershire
    Posts
    100

    Default

    Solution!

    Needed to convert the mov. files to MP4

    I wonder why Cineform didn't like the files though?

  5. #5

    Default

    It's usually a codec problem

Similar Threads

  1. When I render I get picture no sound
    By kmack in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-13-2008, 06:12 AM
  2. sound-picture gap problem
    By gadi_sam in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-05-2007, 11:18 PM
  3. Sound.....but no picture !!
    By Leroy in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-06-2007, 07:03 AM
  4. Picture & sound going out of synch
    By DaveB1106 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-07-2005, 04:36 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-28-2004, 02:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •