Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Question about Quality of Uploaded video from Camera

  1. #1

    Default Question about Quality of Uploaded video from Camera

    Hello

    I recently got a SOny Handycam DCR TRV22 and have been uploading footage onto my computer. The only problem was the footage wasn't very clear, it had many digital squares and just didn't look good. I had been uploading it with just a USB cable. I then purchased a Firewire cable, and the quality improved, but it still wasn't very good. So now I think I might need a new updated Videocard. Anyone have any recomendations or know a way around buying a new card? Anyone have any ideas? Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    ok, in which way isn't the firewire-transferred video any good? The video you get through firewire is EXACTLY the same as is on the DV tape in your camera. A new GFX card ain't gonna fix that, sadly.

    Is it still blocky? Is it the interlacing artifacts? What DV codec are you using to view the files? Go get yourself the panasonic one from http://www.movie-codes.com and that should help you.
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    ontario canada
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Throw that USB cable away...I dont know why the camcorder manufacturers bother with them.

    Could be the same problem I was getting that the default "free" DVD editing software that came on my PC automaticaly converting the firewire camcorder input into MPEG format, and some data was lost in the compression.

    Is your clip defaulting to MPEG, or is it a larger AVI file?

    Try checking the software options to minimise compression as the file is "downloaded"

  4. #4

    Default

    Thanks guys, I fixed it, the qaulity is perfect, but now I have a new problem.

  5. #5

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-09-2006, 09:13 PM
  2. HELP!!! Is this Camera supposed to have BAD QUALITY?
    By Singh in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-21-2005, 10:46 PM
  3. i uploaded a 1.4 mb video of a blurred effect i need 2 learn
    By Troy Jones in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-29-2005, 07:56 AM
  4. Export video to camera in high quality for TV
    By hardwork04 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-14-2004, 12:19 AM
  5. DV to PC - Quality worse than when playing on the camera
    By CHU in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-11-2004, 01:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •