Thread: Audio leveling

1. Default Audio leveling

I am totally new to Vegas Pro 9. The problem I have is that I have a film about 20 mins in length that comprises of a number of clips and voice overs from various sources.

The problem is audio levels. I don't know if it is the way to go, but I decided to group audio tracks by 'loudness' and have ended up with 4 audio tracks each track containing audio clips that are roughly of the same level of loudness (forgive non-technical terms).

So, how do I go about leveling the levels to make the entire audio the same level?

I was working on the idea of just using the audio slider on the track header to get each track about right, then fine tune with envelops where necessary. Would this the the correct way to go about it, or are there easier more accepted methods?

You could try whats called Normalising the audio tracks. It's when the software tries to balance out the volume lowering the peaks to a set level. This is what Sony Vegas help says to do:-

Maximizes an audio event’s volume without clipping.
    If you want to recalculate the normalization value for the selected event, click the Recalculate button on the Event Properties dialog to determine the normalization value for the selected event. If you trim or extend a normalized event, you will want to recalculate the normalization to account for the different audio levels that may have been exposed.

I've never used it so I'm a bit clue less. I normally copy audio into a different audio editor to work on it.

In this instance I would not be using Normalisation. I use Normalisation on SINGLE Events - not Tracks - to make remedial changes to quite specific Event issues. This is not the same as Vertical Stacked-Track Levelling.