Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Timothy's Piano (Student Drama)

Exclamation Timothy's Piano (Student Drama)

Hi there! Thought I'd share my work with the group as a first post. I'm currently studying Media Production at Staffordshire University, England. I'm currently in my second year, and this will be the first time I've worked with enlisted actors from agencies and directed and edited in a professional manner. Unfortunately, the ending didn't come out as well as I'd hoped - but other than that, I was pleased with how the film worked, as well as the crew's outstanding efforts. Hope you guys enjoy it

Directed, written and edited by myself, Sam Piggott.
    Produced by Lauren Hatchard and Holly Morris.
    Lighting by Dave Gawne.
    Camera Operation by Nathan Pascoe.
    Sound Design by Patrick Hanley.
    Running by Adam Georgiou.
    Stars Ted Claxton, Toni Cummings and Daniella Rushton.
    Music composed by Matthew Page.

Titling and credit sequence developed in Apple's Motion.
    Edited together in Final Cut Pro.
    Tinted using Color.

Blog Entries

Hi Sam, thanks for posting. A great effort. As a student of film you can expect harsher criticism here than we might dish out to amateur home movie makers. This is all done with the intention to help you get bettter grades (and so we can all learn). This was clearly not put together by a bunch of first timers so I'm going to be hyper critical - OK?

I thought this was an interesting piece though I have to admit I didn't "get" the end. We get a car crash and then - what? The significance of the keyboard standing in the corner and the meaningful glances from the mother were lost on me. Perhaps this is what you mean by not being happy with the ending?

Overall: Well edited and very well paced.
    Good steady shots (there would be absolutely NO excuse for the trendy hand-held wobbly look in this piece).
    Good mix of wide/mid/close shots and a few interesting angles.