Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Problem with Picture-in-Picture (Track Motion)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Venlo, The Netherlands
    Posts
    7

    Default Problem with Picture-in-Picture (Track Motion)

    I have created 2 picture-in-picture's which are both on a separate track above the main video, then I used the Track Motion function to resize and place the picture-in-picture.

    The problem is that during both PIP's you can also see the PIP-video flickering fullscreen. I have uploaded the video to youtube for you to see:
    The problem is quite obvious at around 11 and 22 seconds.

    Does anyone have an idea why Vegas is doing this? And more important, how to fix it?
    any help would be very welcome

  2. #2

    Default

    Try the Pan/Crop tool instead to resize and move the pip. It might work better.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Venlo, The Netherlands
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Thank you very much, it worked perfectly

    here is the result:


    Now to get some decent footage and do some more editing
    Last edited by BramJ; 01-27-2010 at 01:16 AM.

  4. #4

    Default

    I'm glad it worked for you. You seem to be going at a fair old pace.

    That would look good if you where riding through a forest or over hills if you have any in Holland.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Venlo, The Netherlands
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Luckily I live in the south, so we do have some nice trails to ride here

    these 2 short videos I just made to test the mounting of the cam I just got.

  6. #6

    Default

    Well it looks like fun. Be careful.

  7. #7

    Default

    O . . K . . . but I have a problem with the advice in as much as this only "cures" the symptom, it does NOTHING for the cause.

    This leads onto 2 outcomes:

    1] Using Pan/Crop will limit your creativity to an Event. You cannot use Track Motion. This is NOT good.

    2] Without finding out the reason you could possibly be harbouring a real issue that is stored-up to breakout at some other critical time, where, once again, you will need support.

    So my thoughts are I'd be wanting to know:

    A] What Media format you ARE using

    B] What you have your PROJECT SETTINGS set to

    C] What Render Template you are using?

    There is definitely a very interesting anomaly lurking. It could be a worthwhile bug notification that SONY need to know about?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,844
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Surely the original problem is the sort of thing that's being reported occasionally by many of us with 9.0c. I get it once I start overlaying tracks and mucking around with them for a while with a "crowded" computer. Normally a re-boot cures it. And a defrag helps.

    It's very frustrating (even if it only happens to me maybe once every 10 hours use of Vegas) but I thought Sony were aware of this coupled with the "media offline" and "red blocks in the timeline".
    Tim

  9. #9

    Default

    As I said . . .

    Quote Originally Posted by Grazie View Post
    It could be a worthwhile bug notification that SONY need to know about?
    And again, curing the symptom isn't a cure for the cause. But a cure FOR the Symptom may just be helpful in identifying the cause - for SONY. But SONY needs to know. Squeakiest wheels etc etc?

    Knowing here what parameters are being used could also indicate what is "do-able" in Vegas. I read recently that DivX files have been registered as being seen to be wanting on the Vegas Timeline.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Venlo, The Netherlands
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Grazie View Post
    So my thoughts are I'd be wanting to know:

    A] What Media format you ARE using

    B] What you have your PROJECT SETTINGS set to

    C] What Render Template you are using?
    Yes, I agree with you, its just a workaround but for now it helped
    anyway, they info you ask for:

    A]
    Media format of the original file:

    Compression: MJPG - Motion JPEG
    Avg. Bitrate: 10932,07 kbit/s
    Resolution: 720x480
    Color Depth: 24 bits
    Running Time: 251,19 s (4m 11s)
    Framerate: 30,9961 fps
    Microseconds Per Frame: 32262 ms
    Frames: 7786
    Keyframes: 7781 (Every 1)

    (its from an MD80 camera I got of eBay for 15 euro's)


    B]
    Which settings would you like to know?

    C]
    Render template is uncompressed (but with Xvid video format)
    but I first rendered it using the NTSC DV profile. It had the same effect. Also I see it in the preview as well. Acctualy, its worse in the preview, I see it more there, also at points where the overlay shouldnt even be playing, it seems a bit random in the preview.


    Also, I think it could have to do with my very old computer, I got similar things using Pinnacle Studio 12.
    My computer is a Athlon XP 2600+ (1917 Mhz) with 1GB RAM and a Nvidia Quadro FX700 (Softmodded, originaly its a Geforce 5900xt). So... somewhere in 2002 it was high-end :P
    but I must say, Vegas 9 runs really smooth (especially compared to Pinnacle), just the startup and rendering takes a bit longer...
    Last edited by BramJ; 01-28-2010 at 10:33 AM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Sony Picture Motion Browser
    By ortograf in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-20-2009, 07:22 PM
  2. PE7/PProCS4: Split screen/picture in picture jerkiness problem?
    By aharbani in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-12-2009, 04:18 PM
  3. HELP - Picture Motion Browser - Handycam
    By minijmoore in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-27-2009, 07:28 AM
  4. sony motion picture browser
    By loudboy in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-28-2009, 12:09 PM
  5. great little tutorial i discovered - picture in picture
    By FordScrote in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-28-2004, 12:05 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •