Thread: Why is my file size increasing like this!

Default Why is my file size increasing like this!

I am fairly new to Vegas Pro, at least on the video side (have used it quite a bit for multitrack audio work).

I have reciently transferred some SD DV fottage into Vegas and needed to perform some editing (eq, levels etc) on the audio tracks. Loading it into Sound Forge from Vegas, performing the audio track edits and then saving the file in sound forge (before going back to Vegas), the file size had increased from around 50Gb to over 250Gb!

As far as I could see, the file format had not changed, so why is this happening?

Many thanks for any help, Dan

Does the new file have a higher bit rate ?

Hope, everything is the same - apart from this huge increase in file size. Doesn't make sense....

No it doesn't make sense.

If the file has increased in size by that much there is a fundamental difference. Either it's changed from being a compressed file to a non compressed file or the bit rate of the file has increased or both or the media has increased in length.

Check the properties of each file.

Yes, sorry, it looks like the compression has changed. Right-clicking and selecting properties, the larger file says "data rate 613kbps, 24bit uncompressed" and the smaller file (from another tape) just says "25 frames/second and 2876kbps" with no mention of being compressed/uncompressed, so I assume it is compressed.

I thought Sound Forge would have automatically saved the file in the original format given that the file was opened in it from Vegas?

How do I go about easily reverting this situation without loosing quality or screwing something up - and prevent it happening again in the future?

Many thanks, Dan

You are asking TWO highly interesting questions:

Q1:
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan G View Post
    I thought Sound Forge would have automatically saved the file in the original format given that the file was opened in it from Vegas?