Thread: MiniDV/DVCam Vs HDD/SD Card cameras?

Default MiniDV/DVCam Vs HDD/SD Card cameras?

Probably a total newbie question but it's been a good 8 years since I bought a camcorder and I'm in the market for a new one. It's going to be used to film extreme sports (skating/etc) and I'm aware of the need for a fisheye lens, etc, but I have a more fundamental query - are the current gen of HDD and/or SD card cameras any good?! I've always been under the impression that the compression quality is vastly inferior to MiniDV cameras, but the latter have all but disappeared from the high street - can anyone shed any light for me? As long as the footage looks good and isn't going to look shabby on a giveaway DVD I'll be happy!

TIA guys!

Blog Entries

Current generation cameras use the AVCHD codec rather than DV used by miniDV. Although the compression used is greater, the method of compression is much more efficient. This means that HD content can now be recorded to hard drives, which wasn't really much of an option for DV. So the first thing to note is that the current crop of cameras are recording at a higher resolution. So for any given optics, the picture quality is, in theory, supperior.

There are, of course, sacrifices. In order to deliver more for less (i.e. greater resolution at a lower file size), the compression is far greater. Typically, editing software wasn't developed to deal with compression between frames, which is what's used in AVCHD cameras. This means that older software can't edit at all, and older PCs are unlikely to be able to edit well with the right software. To put is simply, the minimum spec for editing AVCHD is far greater than DV. So that's the second point. You will need to check your software can edit and your PC is capabable of editing AVCHD. However if you're going to gove your footage on DVD, you will be downcoverting anyway, and you can downconvert to DV before editing.