Thread: Newbie here!

Default Newbie here!

I am tentatively dipping my toe in the water as it were. My husband and I are currently wedding photographers and I have recently decided to expand into videography as well as we are often asked for videographer recommendations so upselling to include video seems like a natural progression.

I am getting advice from the lovely Richard Wakefield of FX Films and am going to spend a day training with him in February.

I have a Canon XH A1S and two Canon 5D MKII's. I also have two Rode Videomic's, a Manfrotto 503, 525 Tripod and Head and I have a Flycam and a Glidetrack on order. I have a 27" imac and Adobe Premier Pro for editing (fortunately already had the imac for the photography!)

I am spending a lot of time playing with both cameras at the moment and coming up with a list of questions as long as my arm for Richard! I have edited videos in the past (for family and friends) and really enjoy it.

The plan is to offer current photography customers who don't have a videographer booked free coverage and take it from there.

I am really looking forward to getting involved in a new challenge and I am sure I will have lots of questions (and hopefully some videos to share) in the not too distant future!

Hi BLD and welcome! - Richard is quite knowledgable and will be a great help on the groundwork for your new venture.
    It will seem a quantum leap coming from the world of photography. There are many disciplines that will seem overwhelming.
    Besides the colour balancing, focus and exposure that you will be familiar with, there is sound and continuity which can seem at times like juggling fog.

Most newbies skirt round sound and continuity and rely on camera mics and a dissolve to cover the missed bits, but once you discover the ways to make the audio on the important bits crisp, and teamwork to keep the continuity on track, it becomes a far superior production.