Thread: Beach Wedding Video - Audio Hints? Other suggestions?

Default Beach Wedding Video - Audio Hints? Other suggestions?

Hey everybody,

My name is Kyle Olson and I am new to the blogs / forums.

I am a videographer out in Hollywood, California and I am currently preparing to shoot a new type of video that I haven't had experience with before.

I've shot tons of Wedding videos in the past, but this one is talking place on the east coast on a beach front.

Some questions:

1. What is my best way to mic something like this on the beach?
    2. What things should I be mindful of and really be sure and prepare?
    3. Any cute ideas of video to be sure and capture while on the beach with the couple?
    4. Does anybody have some links to a beach wedding they shot so I can get some creative juices flowing?

I'm looking forward to hearing yours tips and advice!

Thanks in advance!

Kyle

Hi Kyle and welcome to the UK forum.
    You have a great location, very envious. If you ever want to swap backdrops for a grey, damp, cold Yorkshire, drop me a line.

I've never filmed beach weddings, though I have edited a few, badly filmed ones that clients have brought over to have edited.

The problems I noticed were, camera tilted off level so the sea ran downhill, easily corrected on the day, especially as you've already filmed loads and wind wave noise.
    Noise can be minimised by close micing either the bride or groom with a radio mic. If they're in their swiming trunks and you can't clip a mic on them, clip it on the table flowers facing the couple. It'll eliminate most of the wave/windroar.

Fun shots - If the couple are up for it on the day, the obvious wave jumping and running hand in hand stuff.
    If they're really fun and they get it, try filming (a day or 2 before the ceremony) heads under water with the venue as a backdrop and then their heads coming up out of the water for a kiss/swimming back towards the venue. This can then be used as an opening closing scene.