Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Editing HD Video - A total pain.

Default Editing HD Video - A total pain.

Hello, I'm new to these forums, but I've been looking all around for a solution to this problem.

I've been using Sony Vegas 8 Pro for a good 2 years now, and had been using it to create and edit SD movies. Recently I've stepped up to HD with a new camera and am finding it a total pain in the neck to edit any HD video in Sony Vegas. The videos are extremely slow and laggy while editing, making it impossible to edit carefully and go frame by frame. Its nothing like editing SD videos and having the ease of editing quickly, then hitting spacebar to make sure I had gotten every detail right.

Is there any kind of solution to this? I have a fairly powerful PC running on Windows Vista 64-bit.

Q6600 @ 2.4Ghz
    4GB DDR2 800 RAM
    8800GT Video card

Any help is appreciated.

Have you tried adjusting the preview options to reduce the picture quality for checking the smoothness of cuts, transitions etc. and then improving the preview quality for checking the image quality, colour etc.

I moved to HD about 18 months ago - using 8b then 8c. On my old 2 core, with 3gig RAM, the only noticeable difference was in the rendering times. What version of 8 are you using? I tried 8.1 when I upgraded to a 64bit system. Found it total crap, and went back to 8c. Also, what type of HD are you editing?

CitizenSnips5

Judging from your computer specs, you have a fairly powerful machine there. I'd question the compatibility of Sony Vegas with your system. Exactly which build of Sony Vegas 8 are you on?

Quote Originally Posted by Midnight Blue View Post
    Have you tried adjusting the preview options to reduce the picture quality for checking the smoothness of cuts, transitions etc. and then improving the preview quality for checking the image quality, colour etc.