Thread: Aspect ratio problem - someone please help!

Default Aspect ratio problem - someone please help!

Hi guys,

I'm quite new to the video editing software I have (Sony Vegas 9) and I have a problem I was hoping you could help me with.

I'm currently trying to splice together two pieces of video, one of which has a 16:9 aspect ratio, and the other a 4:3 ratio. Now, I can put them together fine, but what I want to do, in order to make my video more seemless, is to make the 4:3 effectively output at 16:9, so that at no point do I get any black borders at the side of the screen, but without distorting the video in any way.

Of course, it is quite simple to just stretch the video horizontally using Event Pan/Crop, but I don't want to do that. Therefore, I suppose I'll need to somehow 'zoom in' and in effect chop off part of the top and bottom of the image.

Can anyone tell me how exactly I might do this?

I've tried everything I can think of and I've had no luck.

Thanks in advance.

-Kissinger.

Quote Originally Posted by kissinger View Post
    Of course, it is quite simple to just stretch the video horizontally using Event Pan/Crop, but I don't want to do that.
    - Eh? But that's how you DO do it - by using Pan/Crop? How are you getting the stretch? I'm interested?

Anyways . . .

Quote Originally Posted by kissinger View Post
    Therefore, I suppose I'll need to somehow 'zoom in' and in effect chop off part of the top and bottom of the image.
    Yes, go back into Pan/Crop and use the Preset drop down: "16:9 Widescreen TV aspect ratio" : preset. This WILL give a default slice through the centre of your shot. You can also range the the rectangle up or down a bit to re-frame.

Thanks Grazie, that fixed it! So simple, but I'm new to this so I over looked it.

I got the stretch previously by messing with the settings under the 'position' and 'source' tabs in EP/C.