Thread: looking for help with my workflow for a big video project

Default looking for help with my workflow for a big video project

Hello all. I've been lurking around here today, and it looks like a great place to get some advice, so I hope some of you experienced people will read my post and give me some help. I'll be eternally grateful! I'm going to lay out what the project is, what my skills and equipment are, and then the questions I have.

Here's the deal... I'm a classical pianist and piano teacher. Over the years, I've made many videos of my playing with mixed results in terms of quality. Recently I published a whole piano method book, and I am planning to create a series of instructional videos to support it. My idea is that I'll make them available for purchase as downloads on my site as I produce them. When the whole series is complete I will want to also slap them all on a DVD which I will also sell.

My budget is extremely limited, and I am doing this as a do-it-yourself project. I just purchased a pocket HD camcorder (Sony Webbie). (In the past, I have borrowed cameras from friends.) I have a nice audio recording setup already (3 mics that I connect to a firewire interface and record directly to the computer. I am already skilled at swapping out the audio from the camera with the audio from my mics and syncing it up. I use Sony Vegas Movie Studio and SoundForge. I am also skilled at trimming clips, switching between them, crossfading, etc. My computer is running XP, has a Pentium 4 at 2.8gHz, 1GB RAM, and the video card is an Nvidia NV34 (GeForce FX 5200) with only 128MB memory