Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Pinnacle Studio 9 SE Hiss on opening

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Larne, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    5

    Default Pinnacle Studio 9 SE Hiss on opening

    Hi Folks,
    I am also new to video editing and am looking for help from you, the more experienced in the field.
    I have just bought Pinnacle Studio 9 SE and loaded it onto my PC, which is an eMachines 770, Pentium 4, 2.4Ghz, 80 Gb HDD, 512 Mb Ram, a 250 Gb LaCie USB 2.0 HDD and a Sony DRX 530 UL USB 2.0 DVD writer, so I think my kit should handle the large files which I will encounter whilst downloading my camcorder tapes.

    Now the problem, which may be just because I am using Pinnacle,
    is when I open Studio 9, a very loud hiss comes from the speakers, and goes away when I close Pinnacle Studio 9.
    Apart from being very annoying, I don't think that it should br there in the first place, I would not like to have gone to all the trouble and time to produce a DVD with a LOUD HISS.

    I have already downloaded the latest patch from the Pinnacle site bringing the version to Studio 9.3.5.10, as suggested by the Pinnacle Support, but this has not made any difference at all. I am ging to make sure that the audio drivers are up to date (Realtek AC97).

    Can Anyone suggest anything, apart from using another non Pinnacle product?

    Brian
    Unshared Joy is an Unlighted Candle
    eMachines 770, Pentium 4, 2.4Ghz, 80Gb HDD, 512 Mb RAM, Firewire, Pinnacle Rave PCTV, LaCie 250 Gb USB 2.0 HDD with a Sony DRX 530 UL USB 2.0 DVD Re-Writer, Canon MVX200i Mini DV & Sony TRV59E Hi-8 Camcorders.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    MIDLANDS
    Posts
    10

    Default hiss

    hi,
    i had a similar problem and got out by going into the sound controls and muting each one untill i found the offending input.for me it did not effect any of my sound output/inputs.
    happy tweaking!!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Larne, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hi Zeke,

    It appeared to be the Line In which was causing the HISS, even though there was nothing connected.
    Maybe, if the input was 'Terminated', say with a camcorder connected etc. the Hiss may never have appeared in the first place. As I was using the IEEE1394 input the Line In input was not in use.
    Many Thanks

    PS Being able to open the EDIT page has now brought another problem.
    I cannot open any avi files which I have stored on my external HDD, using Pinnacle, but I can open them using MovieMaker2

    Is This a Case of 'One Step Forward and Two Steps Back'
    Unshared Joy is an Unlighted Candle
    eMachines 770, Pentium 4, 2.4Ghz, 80Gb HDD, 512 Mb RAM, Firewire, Pinnacle Rave PCTV, LaCie 250 Gb USB 2.0 HDD with a Sony DRX 530 UL USB 2.0 DVD Re-Writer, Canon MVX200i Mini DV & Sony TRV59E Hi-8 Camcorders.

Similar Threads

  1. Opening studio program file, after burning DVD
    By Haavard in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-27-2006, 02:04 PM
  2. Pinnacle Studio error message: “Error opening video file”
    By emto in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-21-2006, 06:24 AM
  3. Problem opening .stu files after reinstalling Studio 9
    By Stainless in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-24-2005, 07:55 PM
  4. Studio 8 opening screen problem
    By Spanish Mike in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-05-2005, 08:38 PM
  5. A Loud HISS on opening Pinnacle Studio v9 SE
    By Dancer in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-28-2005, 06:16 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •