Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best Low Light performance camera max 800 euros

Default Best Low Light performance camera max 800 euros

Hi Guys,

I am a newbie on the forums here, but I saw the replys on the questions about the different camera problems.
    Well I dunno what is the best camera to choose.
    My first priority is to have the best Low Light Performance, less noise etc.
    I had a Sony once, but it was horrible.
    I like the Canon, the build and the looks of it, and according to youtube Canon has a very nice set of cameras.
    Regardless I dont find any info about the Panasonic and its low light performance, the big feature on this camera is the 3CMOS chip which is obviously better than 1 CMOS.
    Does anybody know (regardless of the price) which is the best camera to choose.
    Max price I want to pay is 800 euros so maybe you guys have better ideas than

Panasonic HDC-SD200

Canon Legria HF-S100 and what about the Canon legria HF 200 compared to the HF-S100

Please let me know
    Last edited by dannycnl; 12-27-2009 at 10:24 AM.

Blog Entries

All the camcorders at your price range (below 1000) will look crap in low light.

Having said that, a rule of thumb is the bigger the chip, the better the low light performance. A small chip with loads of pixels is the worst combination.

The Canon range is known to have good low-light performance but, if we're honest, the actual difference is minimal. If you go onto the Canon website to can do a side-by-side comparison with the three camcorders you mentioned.

Canon UK - Compare Products
    Last edited by Rembrandt Rob; 12-27-2009 at 11:26 AM.

I have checked some samples of camcorders, I found a lot of reviews, and a list of the best camcorder thats available now.
    And thats the Sony HDR XR520V it looks amazing!
    Only thing I dont understand is why you can store only 10 hours on 240GB when you can store 50 hours on 80GB with the HDR-XR500V.