Thread: New to AVCHD - Which settings to use

Default New to AVCHD - Which settings to use

Hi,

I've been editing DV for quite a few years and recently borrowed a Hi-Def cam to make a short film, but I've only a limited knowledge of AVCHD.

I use Sony Vegas Pro for editing which imports my AVCHD files fine, but I'm not sure which settings to use for best results. The camera is a Canon HG10 and I'm currently using High Quality mode (9 Mbps) (the others are ultra HQ and SD) so I assume this is some form of HD video but I can't find out the resolution from the video file in windows.

Vegas offers many "new project" settings, but only limited export options using the AVI file formats (as shown in the attached screeshot). Sorry for the amateurish tone of this message but I was just wondering if anyone could offer any advice / pointers!

Cheers!
    Attached Images Attached Images

I'm sure you know if you right click on the clip when it's on the time line you can select it's properties. If this isn't enough info for you you could use G-Spot.

Quote Originally Posted by RiW View Post
    Hi,

I've been editing DV for quite a few years and recently borrowed a Hi-Def cam to make a short film, but I've only a limited knowledge of AVCHD.

I use Sony Vegas Pro for editing which imports my AVCHD files fine, but I'm not sure which settings to use for best results. The camera is a Canon HG10 and I'm currently using High Quality mode (9 Mbps) (the others are ultra HQ and SD) so I assume this is some form of HD video but I can't find out the resolution from the video file in windows.

Vegas offers many "new project" settings, but only limited export options using the AVI file formats (as shown in the attached screeshot). Sorry for the amateurish tone of this message but I was just wondering if anyone could offer any advice / pointers!

Cheers!