Thread: Which Software for this strange (maybe) request

Default Which Software for this strange (maybe) request

Hi guys,
    I'm sorry if this has been covered elswhere but I just don't know where to start, I don't even know what the type of editing i am trying to do is called... So any pointers to software or what I should be looking for would be much appreciated.

Ok, I have managed to aquire multiple cameras and capture devices..
    5 panasonic sv-av100
    2 panasonic sdr-s150
    3 other sunry dv cams (sony and sharp)
    2 wireless minicams connected to Aopen xrecorders (hardware mpeg2 capture devices)+ laptops
    dc30, mx30 (probably wont be used but you never know)
    Audio will be recorded separately

I'm an engineer not a video bod, over the last few years I got a bit obsessed with repairing the early panasonic range of mpeg2 SD cameras so have managed to gather a few, the other stuff has been begged and borrowed from the council and parents, needless to say the budget is near zero.

The idea is to be able to record a school event.
    several of the cameras will just be static giving various angles
    others will be tripod mounted and hand held for closeups etc
    the two wireless cameras will be put in props

So the majority of the footage will be mpeg2, if there is any software that will handle this lot natively with minimal transcoding (in a similar way to womble) that would be ideal as the panasonics all produce streams that are cross compatible, the xrecorders can be coaxed into making a compatable stream and have firewire capture for the DV

The idea is to run all the cameras for the full length of the event synced with a clapper board at the start of each act and end up with multiple full recordings of the event.

So here's the question, is there an editing package that will allow me to load all the clips on separate time lines and be able to jump from one clip to another.