Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: USB 2 or IEEE1394

  1. Default USB 2 or IEEE1394

    Getting a new macbook pro 15" in the sales, together with a Panasonic TM300 camcorder.

    there is no Apple store near where I live only a Apple seller in our nearest town, the sales guy tells me that to capture AVCHD from the camcorder it MUST be firewire as USB2 will drop frames when importing into Final Cut Express4 HD, is this correct?

    I intended capturing to my external Lacie Quadra 500GB (firewire 400/800) and editing the footage from there.
    ...why do weddings always attract at least one TWAT who ask the most obvious questions......SO, YOURE THE DVD MAN THEN....!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    4,192
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Rubbish

    Many AVCHD camcorders will only have a USB port, so firewire becomes a bit difficult!

    I "Log and transfer" my AVCHD with USB and have no more problems than with transferring HDV with Firewire. It sounds to me like your salesman's proving that "a little knowledge is a dangerous thing".

    Oh and I edit on three different machines, an imac, minimac and a macbook with Final Cut and have no problems with AVCHD.

  3. Default

    Thats what I thought, he did sound like a twat?

    Interesting comments that you edit on a macbook? maybee there is no need to get the macbook pro afterall.
    ...why do weddings always attract at least one TWAT who ask the most obvious questions......SO, YOURE THE DVD MAN THEN....!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    4,192
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    To be fair, the macbook is noticeably slower than the others. I got it for presentations and seminars, killing time on location and in hotel rooms and only put FCE on it to see what would happen and was pleasantly surprised. It's a dual 2ghz and copes with the AVCHD but, if it's going to be your main edit system, it would be worth going for the best you can afford.

    Yes, you can edit AVCHD but the macbook pro would be the better bet.

    Edit: A visit to the Apple website shows that the current Macbooks have dual 2.26Ghz processors which is the almost same as my imac ( 2 x 2.66) and that whizzes through AVCHD, so maybe you don't have to go for the "pro"...
    Last edited by Rembrandt Rob; 12-14-2009 at 09:56 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,847
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mike-horne View Post

    I intended capturing to my external Lacie Quadra 500GB (firewire 400/800) and editing the footage from there.
    Isn't "capturing" reserved for something done in real time? This why you need the faster interface of Firewire when dealing with any of the DV tape formats.

    Surely AVCHD is just file transfer under whatever OS you're using and as such it will transfer at whatever rate it can manage (hence USB is fine)

    If my understanding is correct, you don't "capture" AVCHD (and this is more than just splitting hairs)
    Tim

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    4,192
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    That's probably why FC calls it "Log and Transfer" rather than "capture".

Similar Threads

  1. IEEE1394 (Firewire) Drivers
    By graham099 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-11-2007, 08:22 AM
  2. Firewire/IEEE1394
    By logantoo in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-30-2006, 12:56 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •