Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: the timeline is getting cut off in AE CS4

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    4

    Default the timeline is getting cut off in AE CS4

    or... how can i see the whole layer/clip on the timeline?

    i am new to AE and new to this forum - so, please be gentle...

    here's more details:
    i imported a 55 second audio clip into After Effects CS4
    but the timeline only extends to 30 seconds on the layer
    when i preview the clip - it hits the 30 second mark and loops from the beginning

    how can i adjust the preview settings to extend the main timeline to see the end of the clip/layer?

    i want to import a one minute video clip - i cannot sync the audio and video if i cannot see the whole clip in the timeline?

    your advice is appreciated!

    cheers.
    =D

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    sounds lik your AE composition is nly 30 seconds long to me. Extend it by opening the comp properties.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    4

    Default

    yes! that's it - thanks Alan for helping out an AE noob like me! I guess I assumed when you import a clip the comp properties would adapt to the length of the clip.

    Cheers!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bongodog View Post
    yes! that's it - thanks Alan for helping out an AE noob like me! I guess I assumed when you import a clip the comp properties would adapt to the length of the clip.

    Cheers!
    it does if you do it right

    Take the clip from the project folder and drag and drop it onto the 'new comp' icon below it. You'll get what you want then.

Similar Threads

  1. Timeline problems
    By lsphoto in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-17-2009, 11:30 AM
  2. .VRO Timeline issues
    By wisey in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-16-2009, 12:33 PM
  3. Red Block in timeline
    By ulremember in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-19-2009, 09:27 AM
  4. Arg... Premiere timeline
    By kreaol in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-14-2006, 11:44 PM
  5. WHERE HAS MY TIMELINE GONE!!!!
    By assuluto in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-02-2003, 10:21 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •