Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: what video capture card should i get...

  1. #1

    Default what video capture card should i get...

    i have an awesome atholon 64 3500+ with a kickass vid card, and 500 gig of HD space, and lots of VHS tapes. i want to convert those VHS tapes to digital, but i dont know what video capture card i should get. I'd like a good quality card, but not go overboard, since its just VHS stuff.

    what does everyone here have, has anyone accomplished what im lookin to do?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    if you do not require to edit the tapes but simply transfer them to digital then you might want to consider a capture card that is capable of real-time MPEG2 conversion.

    I use a Matrox RTX100 to do this but, from memory, it is not compatible with the Athlon64.

  3. #3

    Default

    ha, did a search on your card, and all i can say is... ive been lookin for some models in the range of 40-100 bucks, so i'll see what i can find with that MPEG2 thing

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Icarus
    ha, did a search on your card, and all i can say is... ive been lookin for some models in the range of 40-100 bucks, so i'll see what i can find with that MPEG2 thing
    It's a realtime render card fro premiere Pro. Saves oodles of time
    The un-sung hero of it though is the realtime MPEG2 encoder function. Capture straight to MPEG2 or export to MPEG2 in realtime. Excellent for converting those videos to DVDs.

  5. #5

    Default

    i found one i think i might go for, its an MSI PCI TV/FM Tuner Card

    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-998&depa=0

    the reviews for the card say that the software that comes with the card is crap. I'm just wondering, capturing software is somewhat universal right? i should be able to find another program to use, and not HAVE to use the one in the package?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    Yep, iuvcr will work with it.
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

  7. #7

    Default

    Hello all,

    New user to the site and new to the whole video editing thing.
    So please be nice to me
    I hope I am not posting wrong, but I have a small question related to this post.
    Currently I have bought an ATI X800 XT PE card which has S-video/RCA IN & OUT.
    I managed to give output to my TV through S-Video out and watch a movie that was playing to my PC DVD player.
    Now, I want to grab a movie from my TV and record it to my PC if possible in AVI, which as far as I know it's the best quality. If not possible I can live with MPG
    Since I have a S-Video IN at my card I connected my TV with my PC and I installed the required drivers. Something like WDM, if I remember well.
    Then I open Adope Pre, but I understand that it get inputs only from DV Camrecorders.
    Is there any program that gives me an option for S-VIDEO analogue input ?
    I don't want to buy a TV tuner, just for captruring movies to my PC since I already have a TV and the card I bought it's quite new and expensive
    Any help will be much appreciated !

    All the best,

    Kostas

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    IUvcr.
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

Similar Threads

  1. Premier Pro Capture with ATI Rage Theater Video Capture card
    By Nolubez in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-15-2006, 07:37 PM
  2. video capture card or AGP vid card
    By Dazedandconfused in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-21-2005, 11:27 AM
  3. Video Capture Card
    By merlin371 in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-17-2004, 10:22 PM
  4. Please help me find the BEST video capture card $ can buy!
    By damo5 in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-22-2004, 09:29 PM
  5. How do i capture my pc-screen using a video-capture-card?
    By hagbard in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-04-2003, 11:12 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •