Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Video track

  1. #1

    Default Video track

    Hello. I got sony vegas pro 9.0 today and the first thing I notised was that i can't seem to get the video track showing down in the timeline.
    I created a video track down at the timeline and then i trided dragging the avi file to there but all that's showing is the audio track. What am I doing wrong?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,849
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    It doesn't sound like you're doing anything wrong.
    It sounds entirely possible that Vegas cannot handle the codec that was used to encode the video portion of the avi. (Welcome to the wacky world of digital video, where all avis are NOT created equal).

    Where did the file come from - in fact, get yourself a download of GSpot (it's free) and run the avi in it. That'll tell us what codec it is. Report bacl.

    (I have a hunch this is created using fraps or uses a XVid or DivX codec)
    Tim

  3. #3

    Default

    Yeah seems to be XVID codec
    Last edited by pudas; 11-29-2009 at 05:40 PM.

  4. #4

    Default

    There shouldn't be a problem with xvid codec, I use xvid's all the time... But I found something on yt for you [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5zNcjdOKR_Y&feature=video_response]YouTube - .AVI Files not working in Sony Vegas?[/ame]
    Hope that helps.

  5. #5

    Default

    Worked perfectly, thanks a bunch!

  6. #6

    Default

    No problem.

Similar Threads

  1. Moving media from track to track
    By Sarah & Allison in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-28-2009, 10:24 AM
  2. Video over audio track
    By madshark in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-31-2009, 07:06 PM
  3. Adding a new Video Track
    By Ichoptop in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-18-2008, 05:50 AM
  4. How do I move an audio track without moving a video track?
    By josie_bear2003 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-20-2007, 05:32 AM
  5. why cant I use transitions in video track 2????
    By Pieguy in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-26-2004, 08:16 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •