Thread: Help with 1st Project using Powerdirector 8 Ultra

1. Default Help with 1st Project using Powerdirector 8 Ultra

Hi
    I am new to video editing owning a Canon HF10 and using Cyberlinks Powerdirector 8 Ultra software. I will be using my Dell laptop 2 GHz dual core, 2gig memory and 256mb GPU. I understand this will be a slow process but will be looking to upgrade when funds permit.
    I have recently come back from travelling in Thailand, Cambodia, and Vietnam.
    Have roughly 30gig/3hrs of editing, once finalised it would probably be around 1-1.5hrs worth.
    What I would like to do is edit at the highest possible quality onto a DVD for TV playback. Am not looking to do any colour correction etc but just spilt/trimming, transitions of fading, adding some texts so show location of videoing, DVD menu with simple credits and then a photo slideshow at the end with music.
    I would like some advice on how to start this project. There are about 200 tracks/clips for the whole, should I load them all into the timeline and work from there or should I somehow join the tracks from each destination and split/trim like that. Also will this 1/1.5hrs of video fit onto 1 DVD at best quality?
    I am looking to do this at the simplest/easiest way. Also what format should I select when rendering?

I dont use your editing software but when it comes to handling AVHCD material they are much alike.

In your circumstances I recommend that you do not try and load all of the clips onto the timeline as I fear you will soon run into lockups. Better to split the source material into chapters and work on them as seperate mini films which you can later compile the output files to create a dvd.

I would work in AVCHD and not bother to convert the source files before editing. It may be a little choppy but if your not adding any effects it will probably save a significant amount of time.