Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help needed for complete newbie with underwater video

Question Help needed for complete newbie with underwater video

Hi All,

I'm a complete novice with video editing. I do a fair bit of diving and on my last trip experimented with the video setting on my digital camera. I took some pics of a turtle and uploaded the vid onto youtube (for lack of better place)

Is there an easy way to edit this video, clean it up and adjust things like the colour balance to make it better. Being underwater the greens and blues are all messed about.

I dont have any specific video editing software (i'm a still photographer usually) so if you have any suggestions could you recommend a free to download software I could achieve this with as I dont want to spend money if I can avoid it.

Appreciate any help I can get.

Thanks

Jon

I don't know what camera you are using. Try popping into jessops and ask them if the have any gels you could cover your lens with when filming. You could try a wratten 85 which should get rid of most of the blue. (Being a photographer you should understand where I am coming from.)
    If your editing on a PC look out for window Movie Maker editing software. I'm told its not bad and more importantly its free.

Thanks for the idea about the gel. I'll check it out.

I'm editing via PC and already got Windows Movie Maker. I can't seem to find a way to adjust the colour balances after video has been shot though.

Is this possible?

Quote Originally Posted by ultimateangling View Post
    Thanks for the idea about the gel. I'll check it out.

I'm editing via PC and already got Windows Movie Maker. I can't seem to find a way to adjust the colour balances after video has been shot though.

Is this possible?
    You are going to need a good editing software to do color balance. I use Sony Vegas.