Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why green screen?

Default Why green screen?

Good day

I'm use blue screen and want understand why in video production usually use green screen for backdrop ?

Who know anything about this?

What plugin you are using for chromakeying?

i'm wrote own plugin for chromakeying...

I'm not an expert but I think the answer to your question is it could be any colour so long as it does not conflict with whats in front of it. You would not use a green screen if you were filming a green vase. I think some colours work better than others for example if you used a blue screen I have heard that this may cause problems when keying out if the actor has blond hair.

I'm sure there is some science around this subject but I don't know what that is. Possibly cooler colours (Blue, Green) may work better than Hot colours (Red, Orange).

I hope someone who knows more can let us know the real science.

I'm no expert, but I think green screening worked better on analogue footage and blue works better on digital.
    Though as mid blue says, just don't conflict with the talents mode of dress.
    My opinions are just that . . . Mine. It's not personal, but is based on my emotional and professional reaction to requested critique. If you choose to ignore constructive comments, I'll just assume you're a vanity poster and not posting to improve your filming and editing skills.

Ex A.P.V Videomaker of the year - Ex M.M. IOV Come join my EXclusive club

These considerations also came into my head. But the fact is that the green screen use 5 times more (searches count in google).

And in Hollywood, always use a green screen.

So I wondered ... Why such a big difference?

I think people love the jeans, and of course for jeans better green screen ...

joke
    Last edited by nprice; 11-19-2009 at 01:58 PM.

Blog Entries