Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: The timeline - how to edit just one track?

  1. Default The timeline - how to edit just one track?

    Hi - I've got Sony Vegas pro 9.0 and been experimenting for a couple of months, but I don't want to upload a video until I know all the fundamental aspects properly. There have been a few things that have been holding me back with Vegas and I haven't been able to find help via tuts etc.

    1) How do you edit on just one track without it affecting the other tracks (inc audio.) If, for example, I want to cut the audio short then it also deletes the same area of the video or vice-versa. The same happens if you want to manipulate and edit (i.e make longer or shorter) text above a video track. This is causing me all sorts of problems. I have tried right-clicking audio> ungroup, but the "ungroup" option isn't available. How do I avoid this problem?

    Replies appreciated

    The Nightingale

  2. #2

    Default

    There is an icon on the top (on left hand side) toolbar that says something like, "IGNORE EVENT GROUPING" click on that and it will un-group audio and video, click to group them back.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,847
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The Nightingale View Post
    . I have tried right-clicking audio> ungroup, but the "ungroup" option isn't available. How do I avoid this problem?
    I trust you mean you right click on the audio track and then select Group | Remove From (U)
    or press the control key.

    If so, and given the trouble with the text track, I suspect you may have auto ripple switched on. If you remove a part of a track everything else will shift to fill in the gap (variable depending on what options you've selected)
    Auto Ripple is a toggle button along the top - Keyboard shortcut is Ctrl+L
    Tim

  4. Default

    Thanks so much- that did the trick. I must have put autoripple on ages ago when I was editing a video.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,847
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    One down another six to go, eh?
    Tim

  6. #6

    Default

    Hi, Iam having the same problem, Can you please suggest some way to avoid it. If I edit one track, it is affecting the other tracks too. Iam using Sony Vegas pro 13.
    Thanks

  7. #7

    Default

    Did you read the replies given in this thread? Auto Ripple is in the Timeline Toolbar in Vegas Pro 13 though.

Similar Threads

  1. Moving media from track to track
    By Sarah & Allison in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-28-2009, 10:24 AM
  2. How do I move an audio track without moving a video track?
    By josie_bear2003 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-20-2007, 05:32 AM
  3. cant add track
    By etharooni in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-15-2007, 08:36 AM
  4. Overwrite Edit versus Use another track
    By Overton Studios Trust in forum Pimp the Link
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-22-2006, 03:51 PM
  5. Point edit audio track?
    By mgkcoza in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-19-2005, 03:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •