Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Camcorder for shooting the night sky

Default Camcorder for shooting the night sky

Hello! I'm new to this forum, but I'm confident from what I've read that you folks can help answer my questions.

I'm looking at buying a camcorder to record the night sky. I'm hoping to record shooting stars and lights in the sky or long periods of time but I'm having difficulty figuring out which camera to purchase. I'm really a novice in regards to camcorders, but I was thinking the Canon HF20 looked like a good choice, since it has 32GB of built in memory, shoots in full 1080 HD, and it felt nice when I used it at Best Buy. If you think this is not the right camera, please suggest a better one for this specific purpose of shooing the sky at night for long durations.

I was hoping to stay in the $500-$700 range if at all possible. However, if I'll need a more expensive camera to shoot the night sky, I'd be willing to spend more.

Thank you all for your help! I really appreciate it!

Hey randolph,

Although not a direct answer to your question one thing to watch out for is the fact that filming the night sky in my experience is very hard. The cameras I tried just saw blackness. An important thing to consider is how the camera performs in low light.

When I tried the camera recorded blackness with no clear distinction between anything as the camera struggled to see the difference between a a tiny star and the night sky

As I said, no real help but hopefully food for though

Blog Entries

The Canon is a blinding camcorder and worth every penny but...

For what you want, a consumer camcorder isn't going to make it. All camcorders need light, quite a lot of it in fact. The manufacturers claim that their camcorders work in candlelight, which they do by artificially boosting the signal, causing electronic noise. Your night sky will end up looking like a grainy mess.