Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New guy here

1. Default New guy here

hey hey, first post here! i'm fairly new to the video editing world. I don't have a cam corder or anything so i am mainly stuck to doing intro's and in game videos with fraps etc.

anyway, only apparently allowed one vid per thread.. so here is one of them!

i am always open to constructive criticism etc and i have a few other videos aswell on my youtube account

Hi

Well I think you win the shortest video sequence prize in this section. As an intro its ok but I am not sure how much technical skill was involved in producing it.

Good luck

3. Default

not much technical skill invovled as i am by far from a pro at this kind of stuff.. i just watched a few vids on youtube and took that basis and started to make videos that are progessively more technical each time, still.. always learning and always open to advice and what not

Blog Entries

At 10 secs it's too long. Seriously!

Imagine you are showing half a dozen of your films (I'm assuming these are of a typical length for a good amateur short - say 3 to 12 minutes).

By the third film, people will have got fed up with this ident. You need something very short and sweet.
    Tim

5. Default

short and sweet..gotcha..i tend to get carried away and make quite lenghty stuff.. but i shall take your advice into consideration and make them short =) or atleast try to hehe

Tim is right of course, 10 seconds would be to long to use as an ident. What is your ultimate goal and purpose for learning to edit? Is it to produce home movies, slick film trailer re-edits ? I ask because its unusual to see someone start with a film ident, that normally comes after you have a few films under your belt and you want to try and identify your work with a brand.

There is nothing wrong with editing in-game footage although you would have to post the results in the fan video section.