Thread: camcorder advice for 70 yr old!!!!!

Default camcorder advice for 70 yr old!!!!!

Hi, I'm new to this forum and a complete novice so wud really appreciate some advice.
    Want to buy my 70 yr old Dad a camcorder for Christmas to make home videos of grandkids & family events. looking at a low budget of 200 max

He uses a digital SLR stills camera but he's pretty clueless about how it links with the PC (he connects his camera to the TV but that's about his limit!!) I dont want a storage media where he'd have to download to a PC each time like with an internal harddrive.

I'm looking for a model with good quality sound and picture that's EASY to use indoor & out. Something that wud keep a proud granddad happy for hours. Ive looked at some DVD camcorders. like the idea of recording straight onto a DVD format with material ready to view and easy to store.

Any thoughts on the Sony DVD 115 (145 in Argos) read lots of good reviews but some have mentioned controls/menus were difficult to master? Also what about the touch screen, heard they can be a hyper sensitive on some models and bit of a pain?

Any suggestions or advice really appreciated,

Thanks, Lynne

2. Default

Hi Lynne.
    I don't know the Sony DVD145 model, but i would give