Thread: Newbie question: "pre-rendering" in Vegas Pro 8?

Default Newbie question: "pre-rendering" in Vegas Pro 8?

Hi, apologies for the very basic question.

I am new to Vegas Pro 8. In it, I have placed a clip on the timeline; then copied it, placing the copy in the same track, immediately after the original. I have then reversed the copy.

Playback of the original is fine, but when the playhead reaches the reversed copy, it is choppy.

I notice that on the timeline, above the copy, there is a blue line. From my experience with Adobe Premiere Elements, this means a clip which has had FX (such as reversal) applied needs to be pre-rendered for playback to go smoothly. In that application, you do this by pressing Enter.

Is that what the blue line means in Vegas? At all events, how do I make playback of the reversed clip smooth? The help file suggests that to "pre-render" I press Control + M; but when I do this, I get a dialogue asking me what file format I want to save the clip as, as though it thinks I want to export a finished clip. I don't, I just want playback to be smooth so I can continue editing.

What do I do?

I would be grateful for any advice.

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

Firstly the blue line means something entirely different in Vegas.
    It is a "selection" or "loop region". It is just a part of the timeline which you have selected (eg by dragging the cursor along the timeline - to make a "timeline selection")
    When it is BLUE it is treated as a loop region. What that means is that if you put your timeline cursor anywhere within the selected area and press play, it will loop - play that region over and over again.
    To stop it looping, press "Q". That'll turn the line grey.