Thread: LCD Monitor VS. LCD HD TV

Question LCD Monitor VS. LCD HD TV

Hi everyone, I used to work in the field of Compositing, 3d Animation and Special effects professionally, and although still dabble in it as a hobby I have recently (2 years ago) moved away from that path and I have a few questions in regards to a "good monitor" setup.

What I will be using it (the display) for would be:

-Watching HD Movies / Videos
    -Playing PS3/XBOX (when I can afford one or the other!)
    -Special Effects and Compositing (simple personal or charity work, the output target for which would be either WEB (youtube, vimeo) or HD TV's (home tv sets).
    -Occasional photo re-touch work (again nothing fancy, just simple touch ups or fun semi-pro little projects, posters)

What I have considered so far after some extensive research:

- Dell U2410 (wide gamut h-ips panel) can get it for around 450$
    - Dell 2209WA (e-ips, wide gamut) can get it for around 300$

And what I have considered using instead, without much research:

LCD HD TV's in place of Monitors (which are on sale):
    - Sharp Aquos 40" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV (LC40E77U) 1099$
    - Samsung 40" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV (LN40B610) 1099$
    - Or any 32 - 37" 1080p 120hz display around 600-800$

Please advise or give me your suggestions on what kind of setup would be ideal for me. In terms of a budget, I guess the max I'd like to spend on my display is 1200$ if it can be used for Gaming, movie watching etc. And 450-500$ if it will be PC only usage.

Thanks in advance,

Also if anyone is curious the PC setup I'm looking into is a:

Case: NZXT Lexa Aluminum
    CPU: i7-920
    Motherboard: ASUS P6T
    Ram: 6 Gb 1333 mhz Ram
    GPU: ATI 5770 or ATI 5850 (even though I'm usually an Nvidia guy, but DX11 support and hdmi output got me)
    PSU: 600 - 650 watt
    Last edited by dimo; 11-08-2009 at 11:36 PM.