Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Merging two clips in Premiere 6.5

Default Merging two clips in Premiere 6.5

I'm willing to bet you can guess right off the bat I'm new to this. anyway What I have is two clips, the camera stayed in the same position throughout the filming the only difference is in one clip I'm on the left side and in the other I'm on the right. Now I've tried clipping it, and I see no reason why it wouldnt work, but it just dosnt show up. I applied Alpha channel, but seemingly to no effect. what I would like to know is how to get them to play simultaneously. Its frustrating because I'm sure this is simple and I'm just missing something, I've read guides, looked at web pages but they all seem to be for something else, I must be mistaking the name I've looked at Adobe's site. but thats all for Premiere pro. anyway after looking around on here for a bit I was hoping someone could tell or point me to information on how to do this.

Thanks a million in advance

Blog Entries

Do you mean having two videos side by side, of having them cute down the middle?

for the former, I used to use this method: www.marcpeters.co.uk/video-wall.htm (it's not perfect, but works)

Thanks a lot

Default Track matte

Or else just create a .psd file 720 x 576 pixels, make half of it transparent (double click the "background" layer to rename it "layer 0", then delete the background). Stick your first clip onto video 1, put the .psd pic above it, and your second clip above that. Choose "Track Matte" (or Alpha Matte)for the transparency setting. This way, one side of video 1 will display together with the other side of video 2.

Paintshop Pro can produce a layer with transparency if you don't have Photoshop. You can feather the dividing line if it makes for a smoother background blend.

I did this a lot with 6.5, but I can't figure out how to do it in Premiere Pro. It's still got me stumped.

Blog Entries

Track Mattes work a bit different in Pro: