Thread: Newbie question about getting video on the hard drive

Default Newbie question about getting video on the hard drive

Hello all,

Short question: what can I do so my videos don't look like that?
    (scroll after the screenshot for details)

The details:

I have to do some research on human computer interaction. For that, I need to simultaneously film the user (or tester) and record a screencast of what he's doing. Then I get this special software called Interact to analyse actions from the videos.

I have at my disposal a Dell dual core laptop with Windows XP and a FireWire 400 port and a consumer grade video camera (Sony DCR-HC62E). I have little to no budget for specialized software or hardware. I have read some theory on working with videos (mainly encoding), but I have no practical experience. Everything I've done till now was to archive some DVDs under Linux using Mencoder.

For my work, I am not especially interested in the aesthetics of the video. If the colours are off, it isn't a big problem. What I need is a sharp image, so I can trace every single gesture and facial expression of the tester.

Yesterday, I decided to make a test run and filmed two co-workers. The camera records on mini DV magnetic tapes. I used the Sony picture utility (that's a software which came with the camera) to get the video via firewire cable on my hard drive. I guess it uses some raw format - a 32 second record results in a ~200 MB .avi file, resolution 720x576.