Thread: Complete newbie needing some camera advice :)

Default Complete newbie needing some camera advice :)

Hi, I'm a youth worker and some of the young people that I work with are looking to apply for funding to purchase some camera equipment.

They want to use the equipment to make a film. The film will then be put onto DVD that can be shown to other young people and professionals.

They have a budget of up to 2,000 - 2,500 for everything including camera, tripod, boom mic and camera light. They want the equipment to be at a semi professional standard. The equipment would need to be new, not secondhand as unfortunately the fund they are applying for will only fund new equipment.

The camera would need to be easy to operate as most of them have no experience of using video equipment.

I am not particularly worried about the format of the camera, as long as it's easy to operate and also easy to edit the film.

If you also have any suggestions for video editing, I'd be really grateful. I have been told that Movie Maker on the Mac is relatively simple but never having used it I have no idea if it is simple or not!!

Sorry for so many questions.

Thanks in advance for any advice. As I don't know much about video equipment, I thought I'd ask some people in the know as we don't want to end up buying something that's a pile of rubbish, or difficult to operate.

Kitty x

You should be able to get a new camera that will do the job for around 500 this leaves plenty of money for a microphone. A boom could be made from a paint roller extension pole. Most Panasonic, Sony, Canon video cameras around this price should be both simple to use and give a good image.

The lights could be workman lights from Screwfix or B&Q about 15 each. You will need money for editing software as Movie Maker (which is Windows based not Mac) is not up to much. Money could be saved on this but using a free trail download from Sony, Pinnacle, Adobe etc.